• Happy Launch of Lewis & Clark Expedition (1804)! 🧭🏞🏞️

Carbon Fibre Straight Shaft Paddles

Reaction score
Now that Alan got me hooked on light weight paddles, I'm looking for something similar in a straight shaft. Any suggestions? This is new territory for me, I'm a newb in the carbon fibre realm. Looking for straight shaft, 54 ", something that can be found in Canada.

I've got a couple ZRE straight shafts. The "rec" models are only slightly heavier and supposedly a little tougher. They're cheaper too. It's what I use for straight blades. They also have a whitewater layup. I've always bought blems at a discount. 12 degree bend is their standard so you have to pay a little extra to get a straight or any other angle you want.

I'd recommend against the plastic grip. I got one and it's a little smaller than the carbon grips. Small enough that it isn't all that comfortable. I also bought a straight shaft with the wooden T-grip. I'm not all that enthused about it either. I think that's more personal preference than design problem. I'd either stick with the carbon grip or see if you can order one without the grip and make your own from wood.

I'm sure they ship to Canada all the time but don't know how expensive it would be. There was some Canadian builder Canotrouge mentioned in another post but I can't remember who they were or if they build straights.

I'm pretty sure Wenonah builds a straight carbon and other manufacturer's as well but ZRE is the only one I have any experience with.

I'd feel bad about making you spend all this money on paddles but currently I'm driving around with 5 ZRE paddles in the back of my car. The first one is the only one that seems really expensive.....

Alan

I have a zre straight,but I prefer the bending branches expresso plus straight. It's almost as lite,and feels better in the water. Way prettier too.
MY2cents,Turtle