• Happy Star Wars Day! 🌇🚶🏼‍,👑👊🏼🔙

Wood Paddles

Reaction score
I want to get a new wood paddle. Is there a quality difference between Bending Branches and Wenonah? The local dealer carries Wenonah and REI (150 miles to the north) carries Bending Branches.

They are both quality brands. I do not think you would go wrong with either.

Making one is a very rewarding experience. I have been using the same one for 25 years. I have found it in eddies several times. I use it for a cutting board. It is a little heavy but the mahogany, ash and walnut stand up to the rocks. It has a flat blade for rocky rivers.

I am certainly familiar with the brands, but not with the specific paddles. For recreational straight wood paddles (not to be used for racing), I use a couple of different custom made paddles with blades shaved fairly thin and have sharp edges. Whatever you get, if you want to work on advanced strokes, be sure to get one with thin edges that will easily slice through the water. Blunt edges are just awful for fine control strokes, and are usually very heavy.

Last edited:
The quality of either should be fine. I have a Wenonah Cormorant, which is a pretty basic paddle (I normally use bent-shafts, but wanted a basic straight, and they had them on sale at the time). That appears to be the only wood straight shaft they have. Bending Branches has a much wider selection. Once you start trying different blades, you'll find some designs that you like better than others regarding aesthetics, function, length, as well as materials. I have lots of bent shafts collected over the years of different lengths, design, and construction.