• Happy National Audubon Day! 🐣🐦🦅🕊️

Who is shotgunning from a solo canoe?

Reaction score
I am interested in the possibilities of floating a creek or small river here in the fall and jump shooting ducks. What is my best way to practice? Any tips or hard learned lessons are appreciated.
DanOver

I'm NO Expert ! But I'd choose a Kayak, or Wee Lassie type canoe. Something you sit in the bottom of. Lower profile, and more stable to shoot from. A camo cover will aid in getting close.
I'd think if you got up early, and set up in an Oxbow, the ducks might come to you. A canoe should be great to get you to a good place !

As a Youngster, I tried shooting from a canoe, but wasn't very successful in bagging anything.
Others I'm sure will have a better experience !
Jim

I tried squirrell hunting from a solo canoe once with a .22. the danged thing kept spinning on me!

pretty much every moose I got have been shot from canoes... Not shooting ducks yet though!! I always wanted to try. I don't think it would be any different!!

I'm thinking about balance in my OT pack and being able to hit anything. I'll probably start experimenting with the .410 single and work up to the benelli.

I know several people who have successfully hunted deer,bear and water foul from a canoe, but all from a tandem. Like I said it wont stand still.

I am interested in the possibilities of floating a creek or small river here in the fall and jump shooting ducks. What is my best way to practice? Any tips or hard learned lessons are appreciated.
I'm thinking about balance in my OT pack and being able to hit anything.

Dan, I duckhunted for a dozen or so years from an Old Town Pack on rivers and marshes here in Maryland. I learned a few lessons, none hard.

For starters it is easier and more effective to use a tandem canoe, with the bow shooting and the stern solely paddling and maintaining control of the boat. None the less after a couple years going tandem my hunting partner and I went into solo canoes.