• Happy National Audubon Day! 🐣🐦🦅🕊️

Touch up painting a wood/Dacron Loon Works

Reaction score
Hi there, I am a complete newbie to wooden canoes but couldn’t resist picking up a gorgeous Loon Works wood and Dacron “Nakoma” last week that crossed my path.

It is in great shape but there are a couple small areas on the hull where the paint has thinned all the way to the Dacron. I would like to remedy this but have zero experience painting any kind of canoe. I don’t want to mess anything up! I have read that sometimes sanding is involved, while others say you can use epoxy in small spots before deciding to repaint the entire hull, and then others say never use epoxy... This is an interesting lilac paint color that I’m not sure I can match, but I’m ok with finding something similar to make touch ups before the entire hull needs to be redone...

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Many thanks!
Gregor

First off, there is no epoxy involved in Loonworks Canoes. Tom generally painted his canoes with oil based, marine paint. The brand sometimes varied based upon color choices/availability. As for sanding: The Dacron fabric is quite thin. Sand only enough to dull the old paint and feather any paint edges where peeling may have occurred. You don't want to sand into the Dacron itself. The Dacron, used by Tom was a product called Ceconite (not sure if I spelled that correctly). I understand that he bought it from an aircraft supply outfit.

Tom did use Cecconite. You can sand to the dacron. While it is thin it does not sand off. I sanded mine to a pink shade before repainting. Never use epoxy.. Simply painting over the bareish spot will work. Your boat is likely from a friend of mine . It's a custom color and good luck matching. Your best bet is to paint a contrasting design if you don't want to sand the entire boat down.. Which has to be done outside with a respirator.