• Happy National Zipper Day (pat. 1913)! 🤐

Is there a doctor in the house?

A kindred spirit you and I snapper. I play around with a banjo, I’ve built a ukulele and a mountain dulcimer and made a couple limberjacks.
Jim

A fux@&$g doctor, a lawyer and a biting insect PhD walked into a bar…. Sorry wrong joke.
Simuliumvenustum ……..
Do you think you can help Black Fly, the guy that posts here?
;)

I put in about 20 years as a volunteer EMT-firefighter with 3 different services (2 ambulance squads and a fire station), which is as close to being a doctor I ever want to be. It was rewarding most of the time, stressful a lot of the time, but the pay sucked, lol! Those skills came handy on several canoe trips.

Professionally I am an environmental scientist, and have worked my way through State government and currently work as an upper-tier manager in Water Resources protection, overseeing regulatory programs for freshwater wetlands, water quality, septic systems and stormwater.

Neither profession included paddling (at least, not often), but neither ever got boring, so there's that.

-rs

As most of you know, I am a prostitu . . . er, lawyer, who used to teach as well as ply my trade.

Back in the 80's and 90's, an ER doctor named Phyllis used to paddle with my whitewater club occasionally. On one trip on a little-paddled section of the Hudson River, one of the canoeists cut his leg and was bleeding. Dr. Phyllis's immediate professional response was: "EWW!".

As the trip leader, I tried to reassure the group that if Dr. Phyllis killed anyone via malpractice on the trip, I would sue her on behalf of the deceased's estate at a discounted rate of $200 per hour. This seemed to calm all fears and to raise confidence, so we were able to continue our trip with happy endorphins.

Coincidentally but absolutely true, Dr. Phyllis used to proudly state that her last name in some language meant prostitute.