• Happy Incorporation of Hudson's Bay Co. (1670) 🍁🦫🪓

Bow line advice needed

Reaction score
Need some advice, tips, and preferred methods from you Pro's.

I have been boating for most of my 63 years. Have had attached bow and stern lines on almost every vessel. Long story shortened down to "ouch".
Was dragging a 16' tandem across a shallow sand bar, and had a braided nylon bow line snap on me. I landed with a hard thud. Sat there looking at the situation for a few, and decided that I didn't want to risk injury again. Time to replace that bow line.

Recently I have replaced some wire rope winch lines with Amsteel Blue, and also made some Amsteel whoopie slings (7/64") for some hammock suspensions. It is easy to splice, floats, and 1/4" has a minimum strength of 7,700 lbs. I have really enjoyed splicing and making stuff out of this Amsteel.

So I have acquired 80' of olive drab 3/16" (5,400 lbs.), 80' of olive drab 1/4" (7,700 lbs.), and 80' of Blue 5/16" (12,300 lbs.), for various projects.

Before cutting or doing any splicing, I was hoping to get some advice from those of you more experienced than myself.
Because this Amsteel is soft to the hand, extremely strong, and light enough to float, and splice-able, I thought it might keep me from landing on my backside again. But I am willing to change to another material choice if any of you have any better recommendations.

Preferred diameter for bow or stern?
Length's best suited for bow and stern?
Knot attached, or spliced-in loops for larks head-ed in when needed?
Preferred color? If there is an optimum color, I'm not married to the colors I currently have.

Was also thinking maybe an additional one or two 4-6 ft. pieces (or longer?), separate, with large hand grab loops on one end, and shorter loops on the other end to larks-head onto the canoe for pulling straps. 2 for tandem use, or one in each hand.

Bow and stern lines will be for on-water use only, not for transporting tie downs. Got that covered.