• Happy National Nurses Day! 🛌👩‍⚕💉💊🎉

One more newbie calling for help :)

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a complete newbie in some aspects, and here are a few of them: I recently moved to Canada (Ontario), fell in love with nature, and decided to celebrate my birthday at the end of October on an island in the Kawartha Lakes. I borrowed a paddle board from friends, packed my things in a huge backpack, and experienced the joys and challenges of paddling and portaging. After that, I understood that I need a canoe that can fit my wife, daughter, and our golden retriever. I bought a damaged canoe for repair almost for free because we don't have the money for a good canoe yet.

Please help me identify what kind of canoe I bought, whether it's worth dealing with, where to start with the repairs, and what should definitely be done after buying an old problematic canoe. My English is not as good, so reading forums quickly is a challenge for me, so I decided to ask you for advice. Also, I'm not familiar with the nuances of working with materials used for canoe repair. I'm a mechanic, used to working with metal objects, but here it's fiberglass, wood, varnishes, and paints... plus there are traditions and years of optimal solutions that I know nothing about. For example, I was very surprised when I saw in one of the discussions that someone simply bought a yoke on Amazon :)

In my canoe, the bow and stern floating parts are damaged, and one of the seats is missing. It's also likely that the attachments for the second seat are damaged. I decided that I would install new seats. Upon a quick inspection of the canoe hull, I didn't notice any cracks or other serious damage. Perhaps I didn't look for them well enough.

What materials would you recommend for the repair, what might I need? I'm not familiar with the brands available in stores, and your recommendations on choosing materials would be very helpful to me.