• Happy 1st Showing of a Color Photograph (1861)! 📷🎥🏳️‍🌈

Twig Stoves: Experiences, Opinions and Pictures

Glenn MacGrady

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
I've been exclusively a Jet Boil type of stove guy in the 21st century, but in 2020 during Covid I decided I would get both a twig stove and an alcohol stove backup for trips I was planning. So, I got a stainless steel Firebox Nano + X-case Kit with an optional Nano Fuel Plate and Nano Flame Guard.

I also got a Toaks Siphon Alcohol Stove, which fits nicely inside the Firebox Nano for wind shielding purposes.

Unfortunately, the Covid pandemic went on for far longer with more complications than I ever expected, my fitness deteriorated also faster than I expected, and as a frustrating result I haven't overnight tripped since Covid. I have no real world camping experience with, or informed opinions about, my twig stove. What's yours?

Mine is a cheapy off Amazon, but unless it is a “reburner” like a bush buddy or solo stove, they are all very similar.

I like mine and I use it often. Especially when I am traveling light or conserving fuel/wood. I have spent many rainy nights under a tarp feeding it sticks and making tea.

Bob

I have a solo stove lite that I quite like. efficient and easy to use, I can take a quart of cold creek water to boiling for 1 minute with a small pile of twigs and about 10 minutes of minimal effort.

the smokeless claim is marketing hokum (or only attainable with ideal conditions and fuel), it requires steady feeding, and your pot will get sooty as heck, but those are the only real cons, none of which bother me at all. it also would not be my choice for proper cooking, but for boiling water it's pretty great.

one thing to note is that they still count as an open fire, so are not appropriate when there are burn bans or other restrictions in place. but when that isn't the case, it's my go to for backpacking and canoe tripping.