• Happy National Blueberry Pie Day! 🫐🥧

Paddling Options Near Orlando in Mid-November

Reaction score
I'm going to be in Orlando for a work-related conference in mid-November. I'll have 2 full days prior to the conference and 3 full days after the conference to recreate.

Wally World doesn't interest me. I'd rather go paddling. What are some good paddling options in the area?

A google search turned up a few options, but they all seem to be 2-3 hour guided trips in recreational kayaks. I'll probably do one or two of these to get my feet wet, so to speak, but I'd like to find something a little more adventurous too.

I'm an experienced paddler that has been tripping in the boreal forest and barren grounds for the past 25+ years, but admittedly I'm a complete novice when it comes to the nuances of paddling in the south. Are there precautions I should take regarding insects, snakes, gators, meth labs, etc?

My schedule is a follows:
Friday (11/11) - Fly to Orlando
Saturday and Sunday (11/12-11/13) - all day to recreate
Monday thru mid-day Wednesday (11/14 - 11/16) - work conference
Thursday thru Saturday (11/17 - 11/19) - all day to recreate
Sunday (11/20) - fly home

Like I said, I'd like to do a couple of the better short-guided trips since I'm new to the area (any suggestions?). If I could find an overnight trip (1 or 2 nights) for later in the week, that would be ideal. I will have a rental car, but will be necessarily be dependent on an outfitter for a boat and shuttles.

Thanks for any suggestions.

You didnt check fully enough
You can go to Kings Landing rent a canoe and paddle some 10 miles down Rock Springs Run. You can stop mid way and stay at a primitive campsite. Or continue down the Wekiva River.

https://www.dep.state.fl.us/gwt/guide/designated_paddle/Wekiva_guide.pdf
http://kingslandingfl.com/camping/

Ask them if they can accommodate you down to Katies Landing