• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

Football area: Herring bone pattern

Reaction score
Hello
I am looking for sage advice on using a herring bone strip pattern in the "football area" of the hull. I am building an Ashes Solo Pack 13' using bead and cove strips. I am stripping with cove side up. I cannot visualize how (if) bead and cove strips would work in a herring bone. This is my first build using stemless construction and while I was doing "firsts", I thought I ought to give herring bone a try.
Thanks

Simple answer....yes, it will work. I used it on one of my canoes. I prefer using a centre line approach, but the herring bone is pleasant to look at.

Hello
I am looking for sage advice on using a herring bone strip pattern in the "football area" of the hull. I am building an Ashes Solo Pack 13' using bead and cove strips. I am stripping with cove side up. I cannot visualize how (if) bead and cove strips would work in a herring bone. This is my first build using stemless construction and while I was doing "firsts", I thought I ought to give herring bone a try.
Thanks
Stemless, cove up, and herring bone is how I constructed my first (and to date only) canoe. It works. The last strip will be a headache but they always are right? As for visualization, take a look at the below detail photo of the football. The ends of each strip in the herring bone area are trimmed and result in a butt joint up against the cove side of the previous strip on the opposite side, which means little glueing surface at the butt joint itself. However, each butt-jointed strip is locked in place by the next strip coming in from the opposite side.

34F1AD84-5FAB-41C8-9EC1-4F55CFDE1D7F_1_105_c.jpeg