• Happy Marine Mammal Rescue Day! 🐳🐬🦭🦦

Buying a new kayak, would love feedback on choices.

Reaction score
Hi, new user here.

For history, I have been using a basic Pelican Pilot SE 100 for about 14 years on and off. Yesterday, I think I may have damaged the hull as my boat filled up 3 times in about a six km stretch. I had to pull out and drain it or I would have sunk. I was in a shallow river so I wasn't worried about my safety, but I think one of the rocks that I grazed likely did something.

I have this kayak for a long time and probably didn't store it properly--it spent all of Covid sitting under my Dad's trailer year round.

So, now I want to upgrade a bit, but not break the bank. I am thinking either the Pelican Sprint 120XR or the Old Town Heron 11XT. Both are just under $1,000 CDN.

Any thoughts on these two? Perhaps other recommendations?

Thank you!

Welcome to canoetripping.net, dmaker.

Because this is primarily a canoeing forum I think you'll get more responses to your question from a website like Paddling.com, where the majority of participants are kayakers like yourself.

Tom

Welcome to forum. It does sound like your Pelican has seen better days. If you could add a little more info of how and where you would like to use your paddle craft and approximately your height and weight. Small changes in small craft make big differences in performance. If I was to choose between the two boats you gave for examples I would choose the Old Town. I personally find anything that short and wide to be miserably slow and a poor choice for most paddling. That being said if you float and fish with minimal paddling get what ever floats and fits the budget. I would suggest looking at used boats and getting something a little longer with bulkheads for better performance and safety.