• Happy "Killer Rabbit" Attacks President Carter in His Paddle Boat (1979)! 🚣🏼‍♂️🐇

Any Fly Tiers?

Reaction score
I haven't done much fly fishing since I moved to Northern Ontario a few decades ago. However, back in Nova Scotia, I lived and breathed for fly fishing. My uncle got me started with an old bamboo pole, and when i was able to cut the heads off dandelions in the back yard, my Dad figured I was getting serious. He then introduced me to the mystery of fly tying, and until I left Nova Scotia, I was pretty much a fanatic.

A couple of years ago, I got outfitted again, but have been tying very infrequently. Since I'm supposed to be immobile for a few weeks this spring, I figured I would dig the stuff out and start again. This is my first attempt. I'm trying to duplicate a green stone fly type insect I saw up on Gripp Lake last June. I'm not sure what was boiling at the end of the lake, but as far as I know, it is mostly a walleye Lake. This spring and summer, I'm going to really pay attention to the bugs I see and try to duplicate them.

I'm gonna call this guy the Gripp Lake Greeny. I hope to try him out in August. Anyone out there with more experience than me, please feel free to critique and provide suggestions.

I've been fly fishing and tying since jr high, and what you have re-discovered there is a elk hair caddis! Here in RI I tie them in 3 sizes and 3 colors along with a fly called a Goddard caddis (we have a lot of caddis fly streams), and a third caddis pattern I like to say I invented, but I'm sure if I look back thru enough old books it already has a name!

Looks great, keep tying!

When I'm fishing, I'm fly fishing, but I don't tie my flies, I wish I would, but again that is just an other thing to do that I don't think I have the time for... Maybe one day. Good looking fly Mem!!

Should be able to catch a lot of Perch with that bug and perch taste better than pickerel. Tie up something bigger and go for the monster pike!