• Happy National Audubon Day! 🐣🐦🦅🕊️

Winter Footwear

Reaction score
Is it too early to talk about snow and cold? What do you wear when things get frosty? Mukluks? Hunting boots? Insulated leather? Penny loafers? I've been wearing the same Sorels for 20 years. Never really that warm, especially when doing prolonged outdoor activities like snowshoeing, hunting, ice fishing. They suffice for shoveling the driveway in Ohio, that's about it.

Keen Revel boots. Lightweight, waterproof, rated for -25. Great for snowshoeing and winter hiking.

Miendl uninsulated boots down to upper teens than change to Moose hide muks. If paddling in sub freezing temps I wear NRS neoprene boots over thick wool socks. For some reason I like crocs with heavy wool socks when I’m next to a campfire. After setting camp and gathering wood the snow is knocked down in the camp site enough to switch to crocs.

i had some tall Danner boots insulated with 400 gram thinsulate once in the military and they were effective even when standing still.

barry

Winter hiking: Salomon X Ultra Winter CS WP 2 Boots with wool socks. Cold weather paddling: LL Bean 10" Gore-Tex/Thinsulate Bean Boots with wool socks or Sealskinz Waterproof All Weather Socks.

US Army White Bunny Boots good for -60°F standing still or US Army Mickey Mouse Boots good fo -20°F standing still. I personally like wearing a thick pair of wool socks with these boots for the cushioning of my feet. I have personally wore the White Bunny Boots at -55°F standing still on ice and never got cold feet.

My dad bought me a pair of Sorel Caribou's for my first, extended moose hunting trip - I was 14. 35 years later, they are still my go-to once the Danner Mount Hoods become too light. The Sorels are heavy and a little big, but such is my price for braving the cold. The extra room allows for thicker socks and a goodly amount of air space inside which I believe to be key with this particular, old-school footwear.