• Happy National Telephone Day! 🔔☎️📱📶

My first build - Bob Special

Sratchypants, how did the robobevel work out for you? I'm planning on buying one for my upcoming build using repurposed canvas canoe planks and I don't want to bother with bead and cove. I've been there and done that.

It worked well enough that I'm using it again - I have a 17' Freedom on the strongback right now. Total cost is a bit dear, but it's a nice tool. A good portion of the strips don't require any beveling - the transition isn't enough to warrant it. A couple of points: 1) when there is a significant longitudinal curve in the strip, the length of the tool will prevent the cutter from making contact. You need to get creative with the angle of attack in those circumstances; 2) the planer can easily nick the masking on your forms - patch as you go.

As titled, this is my first build - a stemless, 15' Bob Special from Noah's Marine (a Windsor Boat Works design, I believe). The target weight is 50lbs and I will be taking it easy on myself as far as esthetics go (luckily - you'll see) - zero consideration given to the sorting/matching of strips. This is happening on the 2nd storey of my garage shop - canoe will be leaving through the rear window (which was measured approximately 73 times throughout the build).

The strips are eastern white cedar sourced from a local hobby mill. I bought 22 lengths of 5/4 x 4" x ~9'. I planed them down to 3/4". I pained over strip thickness, wanting to save weight without giving up too much strength. I decided to mill the strips at 0.210" which gave me between 13 and 14 strips per board (thanks to Freud). I stopped after milling 11 boards, and so ended up with enough wood for another boat. I did not bead and cove the strips - I opted to use a rolling bevel and purchased the Robo-Bevel jig from Guillemot Kayaks as well as Lee Valley's micro plane.