• Happy National Paranormal Day! 🔮👻👽

handware

Reaction score
Last Saturday we poled up the Nissitissit in Pepperell MA. Some mild rapids, some smooth but strong current, and a lot of just plain pleasant going. If anyone else was out you'd know it was about 40 degrees out with a fair strong wind. Necessarily, handling the pole means your gloves are going to get wet and the aluminum pole sucks the heat right out of your hands and evaporative cooling is just icing on the cake. I've been poling my canoe for a good 30 years now and I still have no idea what to wear on my hands. Oversized neoprene gloves are about the best I've come up with.

I have had great luck with the Atlas 282 Temres gloves.
Warm, surprisingly breathable, durable and good grip.
I have only used them for canoe and kayak paddling, not poling.

Depending on the conditions, I use one of two pairs of gloves when paddling (not poling): a 90% neoprene/10% nylon full glove from NRS or a "fingerless" 58% rubber/17% nylon with leather palms and velcro closures from West Marine.

My buddy Scott has a pair of blue gloves that lobster fishermen use, I don't recall the brand but they are thick and for poling that can be an issue. I've yet to find a solution for all the wetness from the pole and a pair of gloves that are waterproof, warm and thin enough to get a good grip on the pole.

I would go with rubber gloves from the hardware store that fit over my lined leather Kincos. Look in the masonary dept. They are probably like what Doug mentioned worn by lobster fisherman. I was using my pole earlier this winter and managed to keep my hands dry for the most part. I only used it in a way that kept most of the pole dry and switched to a paddle when I couldn't. This was for maneuvering through ice in shallow water and not ww.