• Happy Star Wars Day! 🌇🚶🏼‍,👑👊🏼🔙

Building my first canoe

Reaction score
Long time reader, first time poster... i am looking to dive into building my first canoe. I have plans from bear mountain boat for the freedom 17. I have some woodworking experience and have build wood SUPs and surfboards so the techniques are not too foreign.
I have some questions and looking to all of you for some suggestions for the boat i am sure that there will be many more to come.
1. I would like to keep the weight down and was thinking about a 4oz with a 4oz football on the outside with 4oz on the inside of the boat...good idea? Too light?
2. For gunnels i am thinking about scuppered gunnels that are ash, i know its heavy so i am interested in other options, maybe a thin exterior gunnel to drop some weight?

The boat will be used for some bwca trips as well as paddling the back waters of the Mississippi River and other smaller rivers in the area.

I have a few projects ahead of the canoe so once those are off my plate the boat will start, pictures and updates to follow, of course.

Thanks for the the help

It's good to look before you leap !!!
All good questions, and you will find a lot of differing opinions ! It'll be up to you to sort them out, and build YOUR canoe !

I was about to say, OK on the 4oz plan. But you brought up the BWCA. and then I went right to how I build mine. 6oz instead of 4oz is my recommendation, especially for a tandem!

6oz. It's the same price as 4oz, from my supplier anyway.

I did a test last Winter with scraps. I took two layers of 6oz . I wet out a single layer, and then a double layer. I let them cure for a couple of weeks !(I actually forgot about them) The stiffness and durability difference sold me on a double layered bottom !

Maybe go 4oz Outside main layer, 6oz outside football, and 6oz inside. If you can find 4oz S-glass, in 60" width, I might try it in all three layers in 4 oz. Again this is just one opinion.