• Happy National Poultry Day! 🐔🦃🦆🍗

Boat not moving very fast

Reaction score
I inflated my seahawk 2 today and put it out on a still lake. The good news is I got it inflated and I did not see any leaks. The bad news is I am finding it very difficult to move the boat on the water. It seems to take a tremendous amount of effort to go anywhere in it. Since I am new to paddling, I am not sure if it's because it's an inflatable boat, the paddles it comes with are not good, or if my expectations are unrealistic. I have paddled canoes in the past and I do not recall it taking this kind of effort to move about the water. Curious if anyone has any expereince with inflatable boats like this?

No experience but looking at it online, I would expect very sluggish. Good to get a little ways off shore to fish. Nor good to travel far.

Inflatables are not designed to be nearly as efficient as a canoe. For one thing there is a larger footprint in the water so more drag/resistance. Shape is a contributing factor also.

Not tied i just dropped it in the water and jumped in. Would an inflatable kayak be any easier to drive since maybe the shape is more effecient. Unfortunately, I don't have anywhere to store a hard shell kayak/canoe.

Wife and I purchased one similar to that. We took it out for pleasurable morning on a local river. Left a vehicle down stream a couple of miles for the take out. Inflated for the first and put it in the river. Wife stated it look a little small. It said it was a 4 person raft, so she got in front, my teenage daughter got in the middle, and I plopped my big ole self in the back. The 2 little paddles were junk. Whenever we would paddle the raft it would just go in a circle. It wouldn't go any faster then the current. I couldn't move either. It turned out to be a hot miserable drift for 4 hours. I'll never do that again. In a canoe it takes an hour at a leisurely pase. No idea about the inflatable yaks.
Roy