• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

basalt Innegra tandem tripper.

Reaction score
Hello all. I’m new here. I’m just getting started on my next canoe build. And it looks like you guys are a gold mine of composite info. I’m still reading through all the composite build threads, so I’ll keep the questions down for now.
I have finished my mold. It’s cedarstip, mud, and paint. I’m thinking I’ll coat it in window shrink wrap for a release. As of now, my layup plan inside to out is 5 oz carbon, 3 oz plain Innegra, 7 oz basalt Innegra, 3 oz s glass. I will trim it with dyvinicell foam enclosed in carbon sleeves. I realize this might not be the litest option, but it should give it a really clean look.

The purpose of this boat boat is to race in the Yukon 1000. I’ve ran it twice before. It’s a design I tweaked from several others. It’s 17’6” x30.4” at the 4” waterline. The goals of the layup are:
liteweight, rigid, clean. The goals of the boat are: efficient, seaworthy, lite.

Attachments

• photo11162.jpg
    photo11162.jpg
    255 KB · Views: 8
  • photo11163.jpg
    photo11163.jpg
    307.6 KB · Views: 8
  • photo11164.jpg
    photo11164.jpg
    280.1 KB · Views: 8
AWESOME !

Oh if I was 40 yrs younger, and lived in Alaska !!!

Carbon gave me fits wetting it out, so be careful. I was working by myself, and only put one layer on at a time, waiting until it cured past tacky. The problem was, I couldn't tell if it was wetted properly !

Others put several layers at a time on. They may be more experienced than me, and also used a slower setting epoxy ! I sure could have used an extra hand ! ( I will next time)

Had a very tight weave S-glass, 6 oz, that was also difficult, but manageable.

The heat shrink plastic works great, except if you have Tumblehome !

In my Black Pearl thread, I show how I managed that, and it worked ! I will do this on my next composite also !

I'm excited to follow along !

Jim

Your Male mold looks great !