• Happy National Bugs Bunny Day (1938)!❓⬆️👨🏼‍⚕️

Yokes & Thwarts

Reaction score
I am looking at adding thwarts and a yoke ( or more ). Being that i am new to canoeing and all that is truly needed on a canoe to make it a better ride. I have a few basic questions that i am hoping yall can help me with.
I have a 16 foot Indian River fiberglass canoe, I always paddle tandem with my wife. There is the stock thwart in the boat ( that was bent when i got the boat ) and that is it. I am wondering 2 things, should i get 2 yokes for portaging ( both of us carrying ) and 1 thwart for the center or vise versa . Yes i know this is probably a basic question but we dont portage very often and i am not sure if i could carry the boat on my own ( never tried ) .
I am also going to be changing the stock ash seats that are just strips of wood and adding 2 woven or cane seats, but that it going to happen after the yokes and thwarts inless i can find a great deal.
Thanks for reading and not laughing at my ignorance

Try http://www.edscanoe.com They should have what you need, for seats and yokes. Most would try and talk you out of a two person portage yoke system. But if you are not big enough, you do what you gotta do ! Depending on where you portage, maybe a dolly system might be better. Good luck ! Jim

Last edited:
Essex is good. Ed's Canoe too.

I have used Ed's a few times.

http://www.edscanoe.com/canoeseats.html

If you partner portage and walk in step you can just balance the back edge of the seat on your neck. Pad your neck though. Otherwise a standard tandem yoke in the center would do.

Now there are alternatives to the pain of portaging in Florida. Most likely you are portaging from the car or short ports like around Big Rapids. A cart might be a worthwhile investment. When I say pain, its cause your boat is probably a beast. IIRC a heavy beast. But it works on the water.