• Happy National Blueberry Pie Day! 🫐🥧

Rocky Mountain Winter Camping

Reaction score
I thought I'd share some pictures from our annual ski camping trip to the Republic Creek Basin near Cooke City, Montana. My friend Dave and I have been doing this for 30 years, mostly in the general area around Yellowstone National Park. We ski hard each day but also enjoy being comfortable in camp at night, especially during the short days. It might look sparse to you, but we have everything we need. We take more of a mountaineering approach on our trips, and bring along high loft down bags and parkas and booties and have no fires with the exception of our white gas stove.

P1070341.JPG
We leave behind some of the last cabins going out of Cooke City and enter the North Absaroka Wilderness as we cross into Wyoming.

P1070345.JPG
Through some open meadows and we can finally see our destination, Republic Pass and Republic Peak, in the distance.

P1070366.JPG

A late afternoon ski tour with views looking north towards the high summits of the Absaroka - Beartooth Wilderness. Granite Peak, off to the far right, is the high point of Montana at 12,808'. Our camp is down below near a clump of trees.

We had good weather on our first day. It started out at a little below zero in the morning but warmed up into the teens. A bit of a wind on the ridge, but not too bad down at camp.

Mark

Well howdy neighbor! Have you done the Beaten Path? Was that ON the Beaten Path? That's a trail that's on my radar for next summer. I was on the Beartooth Highway this last weekend, by the Chief Joseph. It was chilly, but not snowy. It's soooooo beautiful up there. Thanks for sharing.

Pringles