• Happy National Zipper Day (pat. 1913)! 🤐

First stripper: Tandem with speed and...rocker?

Zac

Reaction score
Let me start by saying that I love my two composite tripping canoes, made by WeNoNah. I have bought both of them used off of Craigslist. In 2013 I bought a 1985 model, Jensen, 17'6" fiberglass model. I believe it compares to their current model "Escape." It has logged about 150 BWCA miles so far. This spring I purchased a 1989 Wenonah Odyssey in excellent condition for $1k. I have already put 50 b-dub miles on it and certainly favor it to the shorter, heavier, wetter-bowed fiberglass Jensen, especially since I always have my 96# Labrador with me and a waning tendency to travel with larger, double-portaging groups.

Life has placed me in Tomahawk, Wisconsin, living and working with a close friend and fellow BWCA fan. Long story short, this winter we hope to build a tandem tripper for him (since he won't buy my Jensen) and then a solo for me. We are both carpenters by trade, but he has much more experience with the table-tools and finish work. I have more experience, umm, tripping, so I get to choose the mold. Yada yada, basically looking to source plans for a 16'-18' tandem that is easy to build for a couple of rooks, fast on flat water and not afraid of waves or headwind.

Right now my own research has narrowed things down to the NWC Cruiser, NWC Winisk, or the Freedom 17 from Bear Mountain but none fit the bill exactly.

I feel like the symmetrical Cruiser would be the easiest build. I would, however, add a bit of bow height to it because that is one place it severely lacks vs. my Odyssey (18 1/2" vs ~23"[?]). We are young and don't like the wind to tell us whether we can paddle or not on any given day. 1" of rocker sounds acceptable to me. Maneuverability is not as much of a concern as speed and efficiency are.