• Happy "Killer Rabbit" Attacks President Carter in His Paddle Boat (1979)! 🚣🏼‍♂️🐇

Canoe trailer

Reaction score
Building a canoe trailer from an old Jon boat trailer for a friend. It will be pulled by a 15 passenger van. Any idea on how far from the tongue the canoe needs to be so it won't hit the van when turning? Right now an 18.5 foot canoe is only about 2 feet behind the hitch.

Is it safe to assume that the finished trailer will be capable of hauling more than 1 canoe (IE: not entered on the tongue)? I have mine set up to haul 2 per layer (up to 6 total), I keep them back 3 feet from the tow vehicle and have yet to hit one (yes, I'm knocking on the coffee table).

Extend your tongue, especially for long cruisers. I have been hauling an 18 footer on a trailer for 20 years. Three feet is much better for clearance.

I set it up to haul 4. I figured at least 3 feet, but unless I extend the tong the long canoes will have to be off center. Hopefully this will not be a problem.

There is a lot of personal and perhaps professional liability attached to modifying a trailer frame so I'd be leery of doing that if it is avoidable. I suggest that you look at the line between the center of the trailer ball and the nose of the longest cane that would be carried. Then evaluate how sharply the towing vehicle and trailer would need to be angled for the vehicle to hit the canoes. Don't forget that the higher the canoes are it is more important to allow for the trailer and vehicle have sufficient clearance when they are at sharply different angles such as when the vehicle starts up a steep driveway transition (and most especially starting up a steep transition while turning sharply) and the top or top corner of the tall van (pickup truck cap or ladder rack etc) is swung much further rearward than is normal. Putting the longest canoes on the lowest racks helps with that.....

Best regards to all.

Lance

Here is my trailer.
6D8CDA86-DAC9-4BC0-BA75-0510766208CE.jpeg