• Happy International Museum Day!🏛️ 🖼️🏺

What is the most useful tool for strip building?

Reaction score
So, I'm very new to canoe building. I enjoy collecting tools, some might say I have a problem! I plan on building a solo canoe starting next fall, but in the meantime I would like to expand my collection of canoe tools!
What are your favorites, ones you can't do without, most frequently used. I'm mostly talking hand tools, but any opinions are appreciated.

Most of the building is done with very simple tools. The things that make it much more enjoyable for me are power tools. Most notably a really good random orbital sander (with lots of different sand papers) and a 9" disc sander (for shaping forms); both of which are connected to dust collection.

Alan

Last edited:
Dust collection is my friend! Whether it's a shop vac or full on dust collector, can't live without it.

Funny ! I was just going to start a similar thread !

I couldn't build without the Japanese pull saw, and the saw rasp.

Staple puller,
Rat tail file.
A file that has four rasping edges, two flat and two rounded.
Carbide hand scraper,
Razor blades.
Various planes.
Needle pointed glue bottle. Oh I just picked up the GluBot, you recommended from Menard's ! Anxious to try it out !
Pool noodle for sanding.
Power tools

15 amp. Skilsaw with a fence
Router table
A variable 5" Random orbit sander is very handy ! I can remember using a 1/4 sheet flat pad sander on my first canoe.
To sand contours with it, I put a piece of carpet pad between the sander base and the paper. What a joke, but it worked.

Some random order pics.
IMG_0288_zpstk1jfysm.jpg

IMG_1232_zps7duambnv.jpg

IMG_0434_zpsvub9v3jd.jpg

IMG_0061_zpsjgpe336u.jpg
IMG_0672_zpsq8ipwwng.jpg
IMG_0585_zpsju2ghf26.jpg
IMG_0594_zpsnqxecjna.jpg

Here's some more pics.
IMG_0875_zpsnoed70ce.jpg
IMG_0860_zpsiymgmb21.jpg
IMG_1403_zpswtvk9kr0.jpg
IMG_1569_zpsalhnhqa2.jpg
DSCN0542_zps93aa37d5.jpg
DSCN0540_zps1970f364.jpg

I'd better stop there !