• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Vacuum Sealing Mylar Bags

I believe the mylar bags are stronger and less permeable than the regular plastic bags for the purpose ..... BUT .... you can't use a regular sealer for them, they require a unit specifically for mylar as the melting point is much higher.

If you search for a mylar vacuum sealer, it should pop lots of choices .... but as always .... better equals $$$$ and you have to judge what it is worth to you.

Brian

Just buy Foodsaver bags, expensive but they work (cheaper when you buy rolls and create your own bags of a custom size). Foodsaver bags have 5 layers and the "waffle" pattern ensures that you extract as much air as possible. You simply cannot get the same results with ordinary single layer / flat bags unless you have an industrial vacuum machine.

I've been using alternate brand pouches and rolls for a couple years now. Good performance and noticeable reduction in cost. Off the top of my head; OutOfAir, ShieldNSeal, Angel Love. I do quite a bit of food sealing and prefer the rolls.

Food saver are good and it is what I currently use ... having said that, I routinely get them puncturing on the sharp edges of the dehydrated food.

Given the cost, it is irksome to have to double bag to avoid punctures, once the vacuum is applied. So I can see why ppl would look for alternatives, that is one of the reasons I was also looking at mylar bags.

Brian