• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Simulated Deep Water Self-Rescue Result: FAIL

When I was young and fit, I could shake-out and re-enter a tandem canoe in flat water. But I don't think I ever even tried re-entering the narrow flat water solo canoes I've been paddling since 1984. I could roll my whitewater closed and open canoes, which all had thigh machines, but that's not the topic.

Worse, I'm now far, far from young and fit. There is no chance I could clamber back into a solo canoe, most particularly in high wind and waves, and there may never have been any chance.

Same story, although I could still accomplish reentry while less young and less fit with a beamier tandem. We would practice capsize and recovery when the kids were younger; I could easily stabilize the canoe while they climbed in, and with broad beam tandems flop myself inside in ungainly fashion.

That family practice took place in lakeside campsites, in warm, calm flatwaters, with a beamy canoe. I seriously doubt I could re-enter a narrower solo or rounder bottomed hull, and know the effort would likely be an energy and time wasting effort in “flatwater” wind or wave conditions that would have seen me swimming to begin with.

My self-rescue strategy when alone has always been simple. First, I never never paddle further from shore than I can swim the boat in the prevailing climate conditions, unless there is a very high confidence level that the wind/wave conditions will remain very benign.

Since I no longer wish to paddle in wet or dry suits, I now only canoe in warm climes and times.

I won’t say never, or even warm climes and times, but agree with the “high level of confidence” aspect. I am likewise not a drysuit or wet suit wearer. I still paddle in cold weather, but my risk aversion keeps me to smaller rivers and closer to shore on open waters.

Once getting the canoe empty (completely empty, or nearly so, is very important in my experience)