• Happy National Bean Counter Day! 🫘🔢🧮

Newbie Solo Paddler

Reaction score
Hi! As the title states, I am a solo canoe newbie. I just (last Thursday) purchased a new Northstar Northwind Solo, and haven’t had it on the water yet. It’s snowing.

Right after college, 30+ years ago, I did some tandem canoe racing for a year or so, when I moved to a tiny town in Northern Wisconsin. I had a coworker looking for a partner, so we’d train at lunchtime or after work, and race on the weekends. Since that time I have only canoed a few times, including one trip to the Boundary Waters with friends. More recently, we got into kayaking, but have found that our now almost 2 year old German Shepherd/Australian Shepherd mix is a little too rowdy and a little too big to ride in Hubby’s kayak, and definitely does not fit in mine. So I started thinking about canoeing as a better option, solo (because said husband doesn’t appreciate being hupped from the stern), and then something super light, for when I’m by myself, ……. I ended up going with Blacklite, aluminum trim.

We live in the UP of Michigan, and are both retired. Lots of water of various types around here, but will likely stay off Lake Superior with this boat. Small lakes, rivers, etc. Also, my family has a cabin downstate on the Au Sable River, so I will use this boat there quite a bit. Sometimes with the dog, sometimes alone. No immediate plans for real tripping, but we shall see where this all goes.

I’ve been lurking here for months, learning lots of good stuff! I hesitated to join, just because a) I didn’t even have a canoe, and b) I’m not sure if I will do any real tripping or not. But I have questions!!! One of which I’ll be posting shortly.

Thanks!
Jan

Welcome! I spent several years just in a tandem but was intrigued by the solo idea, so rented one and set off for 5 day trek in the Q. Loved it. Since acquired a second solo. Have only daytripped past year but definitely plan to overnight again.