• Happy International Mermaid Day! 🧜🏼‍♀️

Is my problem technique or boat trim or?

Reaction score
This is an embarrassing question but I am new to canoeing having spent most of my time in a kayak. On a recent trip, I was paddling a 17’ Wenonah with two small children (they weigh together about 85 pounds and a week’s worth of gear that weighed in at about 75 - 100 pounds more. Try as I might, I simply could not keep the canoe facing forward when encountering strong headwinds. The boat would turn around to a stern first orientation forcing me to paddle backwards. I tried loading as much as I could into the bow (but wasn’t comfortable having both kids up there so there was one kid on bow seat and one in the middle). So my question is about whether this is just my poor paddling skills, boat trim or something else? Any ideas on a solution? I had thought (purists’ hearts be still) about some type of rudder or skeg. I’m planning a 10 day trip in the Spring and really don’t want to do the whole thing in reverse. Any advice?

Put as much gear as you can far forward.. Bow light into the wind never works.. You actually do better bow heavy in a headwind and the reverse true in a tailwind..

Technique would be more or less minimizing yaw but that isn't your problem

It would be also a help if you could paddle facing backwards on the bow seat. If you have a tractor seat or a thwart in back of the bow this does not work

17 feet is a lot of boat for a solo gal to handle. The skin friction is considerable. The usual thought is that the more horsepower you can supply the longer the boat you can handle. Usually boats for females in mind are a bit shorter and narrower. Chauvinism isn't involved in this concept:)

So throw as much heavy stuff as you can get in front of the bow kid