• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Hello from Maine

G

Hi,

I just joined, and wanted to introduce myself. I've read most of the threads that this forum has to offer, and have been really excited to see the knowledge, enthusiasm, and respect that all of you folks share.

I have been paddling for just a couple years, and have found myself slightly obsessed with it...nothing new to anyone here I'm sure.

I learned on an Old Town Camper, but traded it in and currently paddle a Mad River Courier. Last weekend I finally got to use the Courier as it was intended, whitewater tripping- me and a friend, 2 boats, on a 2 day trek on the St. Croix here in Maine (or there in Canada). It was low 40's during the day, in the 20's at night, and our last 4 hours of paddling was through a pretty good snow fall- exactly what we were hoping for!
The water was really low (they closed the dang a couple days before we arrived), but the water was moving (only had to wade twice for a total of about 6 feet), and the rapids where very fun to navigate, and great for learning with no real threat of swamping (that there was some cold water!). I look forward to spring when it will be a completely different river!

woops, this turned into a trip report, not an introduction.

Typically I'm on flatwater, cause it's close. I live right by Nequasset lake in Woolwich. It's been a great place to learn, and a really nice place to spend a day.

While I continue to learn and get more efficient at basic strokes, my next goal (obsession) is to learn poling. What a great way to move a canoe!

Oh, here comes Mr. Bossman. I should at least appear to be working!

Thanks for reading. I look forward to "talking" with you folks more.

Best,
Chris
"easypaddler"