• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Custom Wood Canvas Canoe Restoration

Reaction score
I have been busy restoring this old custom wood canvas canoe for a couple that needed a hand with bringing their canoe back to life. The canoe desperately needed sheer planking repair, stem repair/ replacement, new canvas, 42 rib tops and outwales. The canoe is presently in the 30 day curing phase of the traditional canoe filler purchased from Northwoods Canoe Co. The final part/ video will include the finishing touches and delivery on this canoe. I am still learning to speak to a camera and sometimes I know I talk too much but all in all this has been a fun project and I have attempted to capture significant details with the restoration. I wouldn’t be doing any of this if it wasn’t for Robin Lauer. He inspired me to learn and to get my hands dirty with this type of work. Thanks Robin!

WOOD CANVAS CANOE RESTORATION PART 1

Wood Canvas Canoe Restoration Part 2

You did a really nice job making the video, the editing, narration, and camera shots are very good imo. The stem work tutorial @ 38.00 of the first video is very clear and informative, this should be very helpful to amateur canoe restorers for years to come. I learned a lot from it, as I did with the rib tips too, again this is a great teaching video on how to do it.
Thanks for the shout-out, and Thanks again for making such a helpful video for future DIY wood canvas restorers.

You did a really nice job making the video, the editing, narration, and camera shots are very good imo. The stem work tutorial @ 38.00 of the first video is very clear and informative, this should be very helpful to amateur canoe restorers for years to come. I learned a lot from it, as I did with the rib tips too, again this is a great teaching video on how to do it.
Thanks for the shout-out, and Thanks again for making such a helpful video for future DIY wood canvas restorers.