• Happy National Telephone Day! 🔔☎️📱📶

Cedar canvas restoration

Reaction score
filedata/fetch?filedataid=17595 So this canoe came up locally. It’s a 16 foot prospector, and the seller notes that it needs new outwales and repair of a tear in the canvas. Based on the photos the rest looks to be in decent shape. Replacing the outwales seems pretty easy, and I think I can muddle my way through either repairing or replacing the canvas - I am up for a bit of learning project so long as it’s not a lost cause, or a deep deep money pit.

So I am pretty interested and will probably go have a look in the next day or two, but I have no idea what risks I might be taking on in such a restoration since I have no experience in cedar canvas. Aside from the obvious issues in the photos, any thoughts or advice on what else I should look for? Anything jump out from the photos that I am missing? Thanks all

PS I am not sure if the photos are coming through or not, or if they are too big to open - let me know if this is creating problems. Thx

filedata/fetch?filedataid=17596 photo17599.jpg photo17598.jpg photo17597.jpg photo17601.jpg

Attachments

• photo17600.jpg
    photo17600.jpg
    186.1 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
from what I can see it looks like stems too...still not overly difficult if you have any woodworking skills. The canvas could be patched if you wanted to instead of a replacement but the stems would seem to rule that out. That is far from the worst case I have seen. Dive in.

Very fixable. New stems ends and an inwale end or two look like they will need to be scarfed in. Not a big deal. Worth the effort- really nice canoe.

Bob