• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

Binoculars.

Reaction score
I always take a pair of binoculars on a canoe trip.
I use them in the Boundary Waters for spotting the next portage trail.
I use them on rivers to scope out the next campsite or upcoming dangers.
And, of course, they are handy for wildlife viewing.
I'm not a expert, but I own eight binoculars, so I know a little bit.
Most of my binoculars are 10X and above, but I probably wouldn't recommend more than eight power for canoeing.
The higher the power, the harder it is to keep the image steady.
The larger the objective lens, the brighter the image and the brighter the image, the more detail you can make out.
An 8x42 is going to be brighter than an 8x32 and an 8x42 is going to be brighter than a 10x42.
Of course, you want it to be waterproof.
I would guess that most canoeists go with an 8x25, meaning eight power with a 25 mm objective lens.
I prefer something bigger. I take a pair of 8x32 on canoe trips. If I could only own one pair of binoculars, I'd get a pair of 8x42 roof prism.
Binoculars are an investment. If you take care of them, they will last for many years. It pays to buy a good pair.
By a good pair, I don't mean you need to buy Swarovski or Zeis, though that would be nice, but it might be worth it to get a pair with ED glass.

Few know binoculars as well as the National Audubon Society.
They have a very good guide to binoculars.
They, and most other experts, consider the 8x42 as the sweet spot for handheld wildlife viewing.
Based on their reviews, I just ordered a pair of Nikon 8x42 ProStaff 3S binoculars, on sale for $96.95,
They scored higher than binoculars costing more than three times that.
I've considered monoculars. They are, basically, half the size and weight of comparable binoculars, but you don't get the 3D effect. Bird watchers use binoculars and not monoculars for a good reason. You can see better.