• Happy National Audubon Day! 🐣🐦🦅🕊️

Albany River 2024

Reaction score
I'm planning on running the Albany river in 2024. The problem is that my usual companions will (I think) be unable to do it. I can't do it alone - it is for lack of a better description, above my pay grade. I intend to run the entire river, from north of Thunder Bay to the coast. I'm thinking 4 to 6 weeks, and very likely closer to six.

If anyone is planning on this river, please drop me a line. I have all the necessary gear except the canoe (which normally I rent or borrow for a trip like this). I can handle a class II rapid unless it gets technical, and then I need help; I can navigate a short class III. I have I'd say a hundred nights in the wild, in a verisimilitude of situations - hot, freezing, hungry, starving, wet, dry, raining sideways, whatever. I am well trained and current in First Aid. I am a recreational pilot and can navigate without electronics very well. But as well as I can toot my own horn, I don't think I should attempt this trip alone.

So, if you're thinking of such a trip, drop me a line here.

Have fun.. There are quite a few fishing camps on the Albany so you might be surprised to find it somewhat of a working river. These can be welcome or a pox depending on your mood. There are settlements too..

That said you will be on your own for the most part and a means of two way communication is a good idea. When you get this remote, throttle down your perceived skill as the consequences of error are far worse than in near wilderness. If there is a portage , there is a reason for it.

One thing good about solo is there is no peer pressure.. When you get two and you have different opinions its easy to get pressured in to doing something your gut says is a bad idea. The pressure gets worse with larger groups. If you have more than one, plan your strategy ahead of time. Ideally If one does not want to do something, that one rules.