• Happy May Ray Day! 🌞😎🌻🩳🇩

Wet suits?

Reaction score
To buy or not to buy?
I have never even worn a wet suit but I would like some advice.
I am fairly new to canoe tripping but I have paddled in fairly cold tempatures, in other words in the snow. So should I invest in a wet suite? Just in case?

I got a dry suit. Of course I am partly of that creature of heck a kayaker. We travel on the Gulf of Maine and have to dress for the water. We wear drysuits as we can wear just about anything under them including a suit and tie if you want. Seriously we wear thin or thick fleece according to the water temperatures. People tell you to dress for the water. The trouble with a wetsuit is you have to dress for the air too. If you get the wetsuit wet, you will feel all the cold wind. You can stay warm in a wet wetsuit with a windblocking jacket and pants.
Or invest in an inexpensive but still quality drysuit without a lot of bells and whistles, that is made with the occasional use in mind rather than a nine month polar expediton.

Mythic Drysuits. Bryan Hansel has a review on Paddlinglight.com

Depending upon the conditions, a wet suit may not allow enough time to affect a rescue as compared to a dry suit. In my experience with the two pieces of safety clothing, the dry suit is much more comfortable which makes it more likely that it will be used. We have used the Kokatat Goretex Expedition dry suits for about six years. They are expensive, perfectly well-made, extend the paddling season, allow varying layers of insulation and are generally comfortable. It is one the best pieces of equipment I have ever owned. Best of luck in whatever you decide.
This may help:
http://www.useakayak.org/references/hypothermia_table.html

Last edited:
Drysuit here to, I would never go back to a wet suit ever... And if you buy a drysuit, buy a Kokatat, they are the only good reliable one and the only one made in the USA.