• Happy National Telephone Day! 🔔☎️📱📶

Training/Racing Canoe

Reaction score
Hello All. Wanted to introduce myself and start a topic hopefully on a new build. My name is Clint and I live in North Texas. I have been paddling canoes for 20-30 years off and on. Generally 4-20 mile rivers/creeks fishing trips in Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas. Also paddle on lakes and such fishing. In 2017 a coworker and I decided to complete the Texas Water Safari. We acquired us an 17' Ouachita aluminum canoe and start training. Skip to today and we have completed 2 Texas Marathon(35 miles) races and the Texas Water Safari (260 miles) and countless training miles. Have not paddled in while and hoping to be released soon to start paddling hard again (torn rotator cuff).

So now I am looking to venture off into the solo aspect of canoe racing. Also want to do more cone tripping with my family. For the solo stuff I have been reading online and looking at a ton of designs. Probably forgetting about 3/4 of what I have read. Also been talking to Alan G. which has been a big help also. Muddyfeets thread is also along the same line of what I am wanting.

I guess my first question/debate is that I have read that "a fit paddler can overcome 3lbs of resistance for hours". Not a direct quote but something that I believe came from Kayak Magazine? So in designing a canoe for myself I have 4kn @ 2.99lbs resistance. I know it is all dependable upon an individuals level of fitness. But what is everyones thought? Easily obtainable?

Now I just do not know how stable it is. Trying to figure out how to get Delftship imported into PolyCAD.

Here are some of the Hydrostatics:

Design length 18.500 (ft)
Length over all 18.500 (ft)
Design beam 2.313 (ft)
Maximum beam 0.000 (ft)
Design draft 0.289 (ft)
Volume properties:
Moulded volume 3.427 (ft3)
Total displaced volume 3.901 (ft3)
Displacement 0.111 (long ton)
Block coefficient 0.3155
Prismatic coefficient 0.4573
Vert. prismatic coefficient 0.6083