• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Position of feet while poling

Reaction score
Looking through the canoe art thread, I noticed several pictures of canoeists poling. What strikes me is the foot positioning of the polers. In all cases, they are standing in the center with one foot forward and the other back. I stand square to the center line of the canoe, with one foot in each chine, a 90-degree shift of the feet from the polers in the artists’ depiction.

I’m largely self taught in poling, so, like as not, I’m doing it wrong. Or, possibly, poling style has changed over the years. Is there a “right” way to stand? How do you stand?

I haven’t done much poling from a canoe but have done a fair bit from an outboard; I turn slightly toward the side I’m poling on. But the canoe polers seem to change sides more often, so perhaps feet straight ahead means they don’t have to try to turn or shift weight to accommodate switching sides?

I stagger my feet for fore/aft stability. I predominately pole from one side of the boat or the other only submerging the end of the pole with the shoe on it. I think a more modern way is to use both ends of the pole alternating from one side to the other. When doing it that way keeping your feet side by side makes more sense. I’ve seen people put padding on the thwart and keep their shins against it for stability.

Alright! I’m a power poler! Don’t t really have much power though, so more correct to say I use the power poling position.

The depictions in the canoe art thread are all classic, so no wonder they show polers using the classical style.