• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

New Skill for Old Guys

Reaction score
Now into my 7th decade on this marble, I decided to learn to fly fish. Anyone else learned this late in life? My son is a you tube devotee. I tried that with golf and I can now almost hit the ball every swing. There's got to be a better way.

If you stick with it you will be learn(ing) to fly fish the rest of your life. You will never learn how to fly fish. I’ve been learning to tie flys and fly fish for 30 years now, 300+ days a year at one point. I would spend 4 hours with someone who can teach you basic casting and if you still have interest you’ll be off. Books and YouTube will make a lot more sense then. Good luck.

barry

I have been fly fishing my whole life, but have never been really good at it. My Dad claims I caught more fish in 1954 at the age of 4, than any other year so far. The secret to becoming a good fly fisherman is to find people with skill to go with, get enthused and learn from. There is no substitute for practice. You can use a bare line in the backyard and practice landing in a tire. You can read all about what fish eat and how to fool them, but there is no substitute for having a mentor and getting out and wading.

I'm planning on taking up the actual act of canoeing again in my old age, instead of just reading, writing, recollecting and dreaming about it. I finally got my canoe van fixed this summer, but too late to go anywhere warm. Next is to clean it, my Duluth packs and tent.

And then to spend $5,000 on a new but unnecessary canoe for next season!!!

Maybe.

One of those things that is as easy or complicated as you want. No need for fancy gear to get started. Enjoy the time and don’t get frustrated- you will figure it out with time spent.

Bob