• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Lower Colorado Trip 45 miles from Walters Camp to Sqaw Lake

Reaction score
MY daughter and I spent 4 days and 3 nights on the Lower Colorado River. Im ashamed to say this is my first time being in a canoe since we moved from GA to the Desert 3 yrs ago. It felt great to have a paddle back in my hand and good to know its like riding a bike.

We started at a private campground within BLM land known as Walters Camp. A neat place on a side channel ran by a super nice Guy...I think he said his name was Brian? You could start further up river and add this as a destination if you wanted to.

First day we paddled about 15 miles or so through the Imperial Wildlife Refuge and stayed at a nice campsite at the northern end of Picacho State Park on the California side.

Second day was a quickie with only 6 or so miles. We explored many of the back waters and side channels before making camp at a really nice spot on Taylor Lake, Also within Picacho State Park.

Third day we paddled a bit longer then we had intended to due to entering a side channel that put us way beyond our goal for the day. One of the challenges of river navigation is that channels are always opening up or choking in. After 18 plus miles we found a GREAT spot in the backwater lakes. Would definitely stay there again.

Fourth day was a quick 4.5 mile jaunt to our take out at Squaw Lake.

It was a great trip. Super nice weather, the wind was at our backs, and we had most of the river to ourselves.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=2635355906776107&id=100009051691229

Last edited:
I have paddled from Blythe to Yuma in February. It was dark and unseasonably cold a lot of the time. The stretch below Walter's Camp had much less riprap and more natural feel than the run above it.