• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

Foot Brace Location/ Proper Leg Extension

Reaction score
Hi,
I’ve been searching for an answer, but haven‘t located one. Please bear with me, as I am a newbie.

I just purchased a new Northstar NW Solo, and ordered the foot brace with carbon brackets to install myself. It all seems straightforward, based on what the Northstar guy told me via email. However, when I placed it where he said to, my legs are completely stretched out - no knee bend at all - with the bar in the center location. Yes, I can adjust it to 4 separate locations both fore and aft, in 1” increments. But I want to have it centered near where I think I will want it, and adjust from there, rather than be maxed out one direction or the other. No, it isn’t glued in yet.

Oh - pertinent info: I am female, 57 years old, 5’-6”, with short legs/long torso. My inseam is 29” max, probably less. I plan to use a single blade, sitting ( I know - debated about kneeling, but my knees and ankles would refuse, and I’d have to fall out of the boat to get out each time). I realize a foot brace is probably more important with a double blade, but I really like having my feet against something, and being able to push. And eventually I may want to add a double blade to the quiver.

I guess this got me thinking about proper leg extension / knee bend/position, and I can’t really find many clues on that. I know how I have my legs in my kayaks, but a canoe is a different animal, and I don’t want make too many assumptions before making this permanent. I need to figure out whether I need to move this thing back 1” or 8” 😜

Interesting factoid: I’m 5’-6”, husband is 6’-5”. When sized for paddles at the dealer, we both measured for the same size. Like I said - I have short legs - he is ALL legs.