• Happy Midnight Ride of Paul Revere (1775)! ⛪🕯️🕛🏇🏼

Composite gurus

Reaction score
Good day all!! I have a question for the composite gurus amongst us!! On my ww paddles I laid carbon fibre Indes S-glass on both face, but I was wondering if I would put carbon fibre only on one face is it would have the same or similar effect in terms of stiffness!! And if so would it be better having the CF on the back or the power face of the blade? You can see on the picture what I use to do.... both faces are the same!

Attachments

• B66E1CE5-8B84-477D-BCEC-F7628A5FCF71.jpeg
    B66E1CE5-8B84-477D-BCEC-F7628A5FCF71.jpeg
    1,022.6 KB · Views: 0
I have no practical experience with this but do have theoretical thoughts.

First, I don't understand why you are adding the extra weight of carbon reinforcements, unless your wood blades are so thin that they flex and are merely serving as a core material.

Putting that question aside, stiffness of material is measured by Young's modulus. The higher the Young's modulus, the stiffer the material. The modulus of pine is 7, oak is 11, glass fiber is 40-45, and carbon fiber is 181. Therefore, the carbon is much stiffer than the wood and glass on your paddle.

So, for the same reason that carbon fiber is put on the outside rather than the inside of composite boat hulls, I would think it should be put on the power face of a paddle if it is only going to be put on one face. The power face is the face that will be put under tension by a strong pull through the water and it is usually the face that would take the most impacts from rocks, stumps and the river bottom.

This all assumes there is such a thing as a power face and back face on a perfectly symmetrical paddle. I always treated both sides of such paddles with equal respect and without any face discrimination. But, if you want to put a carbon facing on only one face, I theorize it should be on the power face.