• Happy Marine Mammal Rescue Day! 🐳🐬🦭🦦

Canoe ID

Reaction score
Hello! I’m a newbie here. I bought this 15’ canoe used in 1979 in South Jersey and at that time the wood gunwhales were rotten and needed replacing. I’m thinking the canoe is at least 45 years old but maybe 50+ years or more. I’m restoring it and someone asked me the brand? It’s fiberglass with no identification that I can find. The only features I think that may help identify it is that it has a flat bottom, aluminum band riveted to keel, aluminum deck plates, and wooden seats. Before I apply the final coat of paint I thought I’d make this post to see if anyone has any thoughts on the brand - thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_6190.jpeg
    IMG_6190.jpeg
    140.8 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_6189.jpeg
    IMG_6189.jpeg
    119.7 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_6188.jpeg
    IMG_6188.jpeg
    113.7 KB · Views: 35
Can you find a serial number/HIN anywhere on it, usually near the bow (or stern) and on a plate or stamped, usually on the outside but sometimes on the inside.

Thanks! Yes, I’ve looked everywhere. I read somewhere that “they” only started requiring canoes to be registered with serial numbers some time in the 1970’s. I’m hoping someone may have seen similar deck plates and/or the aluminum band on the keel. It’s a wonderful and stable canoe.

Hello! I’m a newbie here.

KnnyD, welcome to site membership! Feel free to ask any questions and to post messages, photos and videos, and to start threads, in our many forums. Please read Welcome to CanoeTripping and Site Rules! Also, please add your location to your profile, which will cause it to show under your avatar, as this is a geographic sport. We look forward to your participation in our canoe community.

I have no idea what canoe that is, but it's unlikely to have been a major brand. Could be an old department store canoe, such as Sears Roebuck or Montgomery Ward. Very hard to say without a HIN.