• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Adjustable front seat in a tandem

Reaction score
I am considering putting a sliding front seat in my TW Special rebuild and would like some input. I have zero experience with these. The thought of adjusting trim on the fly sounds great in theory, but how well do these:

1) hold up over time- a concern is durability and the thought of a seat breaking underway isn’t pleasant.

2) weight limitations- I have some skinny paddling friends and some not so.

3) how fiddly are these and are they more of a pain then they are worth?

4) Any specific designs better than others?

At times I will be paddling with different partners with different loads and sometimes mostly empty(no gear-fishing). Lakes and rivers- nothing over class II.

This is the type of design I had in mind-

DF6B9BC9-DD8C-47EB-8DF9-5205E81A8EDB.jpeg

Thoughts?

On my solos, I made my seats a little deep, which allows me to comfortably swift my weight to help correct trim.
Your pic is similar to what I normally see used.

It would be good to lock the position, and keep it there, once you determined, the trim was correct.

I see a problem, if you want to paddle your tandem solo. You generally sit in the bow seat, facing the stern. That won't work with that configuration.

Jim

I’ll give it an unhelpful shot, with the caveat that I don’t much care for sliding seats (some paddlers love them). We have sliding seats in a couple of solo boats, and I rarely adjust them from my “sweet spot”. We also have height adjustable seats in a couple boats; I never move those from my sweet spot elevation either. YMMV.

1. The sliding seats in boats I’ve worked on have all shown decent durability, although ones that slid on wood rails showed some scarring and scraping from use.

2. Same as above; I didn’t notice any undue bend in the wood railed seats, but the owners/paddlers were not XL sized.