• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Rec Barrel Works - Expedition Canoe Pack

Reaction score
Hello folks,

If anyone has any experience with RBW's Expedition Pack - or any of their packs - and would be willing to share I would appreciate it.

Thank you

There has to be some out there - I see they are sold out until next year.
Looks like a nice pack for durability but I don't see much in the way of back support for it just being a portage pack and no waterproofing... There are many non air-tight packs out there in that price range that have better back support and comfort if you are looking for just a pack.
I always pack for the worst and that drawstring top would be the first thing that hit the water with my luck. I've been using Sealline packs for a few years now and can't see using anything else. I've yet to get anything wet with a "properly closed" Sealline pack. Most portage packs trade off back support due to waterproofing construction. This pack to me (for the price) seems like it should have a little more in the comfort (backpacking) since it is not an air-tight construction.

I do own a Rec. barrel pack and I Love it. Can't say enough good things about the barrel pack and its harness!

I like barrels and there are a lot of good reasons to use them. I have 3 all with good harnesses but I don't like the barrel digging in on my spine. One of the barrels is hooked up to an old wooden pack frame that rides great but the frame weighs 5 pounds so it only goes on trips with few carries.
Barrel.JPG

Thank you for the info folks!

CT, the padding was the first thing that caught my mind as well. I have a family trip coming up and was trying to get a pack for misc. stuff and didn't need all the bells and whistles on this one, so I agree with you.