• Happy "Killer Rabbit" Attacks President Carter in His Paddle Boat (1979)! 🚣🏼‍♂️🐇

Hemlock SRT struggles

Reaction score
I took delivery of a Hemlock SRT about a month and a half ago with idea if using it for tripping on some class II rivers. I tipped it and swam with the fishes within 20 seconds of putting it on water, and I tipped again this afternoon (wearing a dry suit here in Maine). I feel like I'm missing something, like I just don't understand the boat.

Let me add that my point of reference is the Northstar Magic, which I trip in, paddle almost daily for exercise and fish from throwing 10" swimbaits with a 8 1/2 foot rod. I feel super stable in the Magic.

Can anyone offer some insight?

Thanks.

Are you sitting or kneeling? I’ve only had my SRT since June, so I’m far from an expert. It definitely has twitchy initial stability, but I feel pretty stable sitting with a full tripping load and with my feet on the foot pegs. Does yours have foot pegs? If not, maybe something to look into. Maybe try putting some ballast in to see if that helps. It firms up okay when leaned, in my experience, but I hear you. With the rounded bottom and narrow width, it is a lively canoe. I imagine you’re accustomed to narrow boats paddling a magic like you do.

The SRT is initially tippy because it not only has a narrow (26") waterline, but it has a more rounded bottom than most other canoes, which have what are usually called shallow arch or elliptical bottoms. Some of these shallow arch bottoms are really shallow, almost flat bottoms, which provide strong initial stability. The SRT's rounded bottom was preferred by the designer, Harold Deal, because it makes the canoe faster with a heavy load than a flatter bottom.