• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

Different Times

I feel the same as you all. It is a great distraction. I work in healthcare and appreciate a few moments a day to spend with folks who share this beautiful pastime and it puts me in a positive frame of mind.

Bob

This morning while taking my walk along the Kennebec ( yes I still leave the house ) I was pleased to see that the last of the ice that was clinging to the little coves had given up and flowed away.
There is something very special about the early morning along the river, and as I walked along the old rail bed next to the river I started thinking about canoes that I have had and used in the past.
One that came to mind was an odd looking plastic thing from Sear's of all places. It was yellow, not a pretty yellow, but more of a mustered color, and was made of two parts, an outer shell and an inner shell. It was also kind of heavy, but in those days ( the late 1960's ) that was no problem. The thing got plenty of use, but the two things that I most remember was using it on an almost open water paddle and the Down Hill Canoe Race at Squaw MT. Ski Lodge. OH YES, I said down hill, the ski area for a couple of years held a canoe race, not so much of a race as a let's see who can finish event. It was held toward the end of the season, I think that it was March, but it may have been in February, at any event we took the canoes to the top of the trail with the objective being to