• Happy Marine Mammal Rescue Day! 🐳🐬🦭🦦

Winter time, boredom and the used canoe market

Reaction score
As winter sets in and dreams of next season become overwhelming, I’ve decided to waste my time scouring craigslist and marketplace for a new canoe. I currently have two OT Packs, which I love, but think it’s time to add something bigger to the fleet.

I guess a few notes on specifics: My canoeing is done almost exclusively in the driftless region, so small creeks, shallow rivers and a lot of scraping on rocks. I typically bring my dog, a 90lbs German Shepard mix, and a full-sized, fully loaded cooler. I am an adequate woodworker, so removing, relocating and rebuilding seats isn’t an issue. Once a year, my buddies and I will take a week-long trip down a river. I have a lot of experience backpacking, so all of my gear fits in a blue barrel, which is then slid into an old ALICE pack for portages (I recently discovered that the ALICE pack/blue barrel combo would work, wish I had thought of that before several failed diy sewing experiments for a barrel pack). I’d like something that could be used to tandem with my wife on rare occasions, but this would primarily be my solo boat for bigger trips. After our last expedition where we encountered some unexplainable things at one of our camps, we decided my dog is coming along next time and there’s no way I could do that in the Pack. I am about 6’1” 180lbs.

I’m a huge fan of royalex and the Packs in general, but have never tried anything other than aluminum. I am a little leary of how fiberglass would handle some of the abrasion that these rivers are rife with. Speed isn’t really an issue, as our trips are very leisurely and usually only cover about 10-12 miles a day.

As for price, I’d really like to stick under $600, but if a worthwhile investment pops up, I’d pay a little more. I recently missed out on an Old Town Camper for $300 and have been kicking myself ever since.