• Happy Marine Mammal Rescue Day! 🐳🐬🦭🦦

One All-Around Canoe for Maine Tripping

Reaction score
I have been canoeing in Maine since around 1985 in the days when we flew with canoes attached to the float planes. I met Milford Kidney at Lock Dam on what might have been his last year as dam keeper. I have done the St. Croix, East Branch Penobscot, Upper West Branch Penobscot and the Allagash half a dozen times. I plan to retire in Maine soon. I have always rented canoes from outfitters. I didn't even know what I was renting back in the '80's, but likely Old Town Trippers in Royalex. Nowadays, the outfitters are renting Old Town Discovery 169's which are lead sleds at about 91 lbs.. I thought I was just getting old when I picked up a Discovery 169. I never even paid attention to canoe materials or weights or designs until now.

My most recent trip was on the Allagash this past September. The water was CRAZY high (like 8,000 cf/s) the day we started. Anyway, I packed WAY too much heavy gear and after I got home I started looking into lighter gear from everything from sleeping bags and tents to canoes and paddles.

I am trying to decide what to buy for my first canoe. I want it to be a jack of all trades. I would like to do a bit more technical whitewater, like on other rivers in Maine such as the Machias. Multi night trips with up to Class I-III stuff. I have pretty much decided that T-Formex is the only material for me on whitewater. (I bounce off a lot of rocks.) I find the Royalex story very odd. I just can't figure out why a company would just suddenly stop making such a successful product like that. I know, corporate profits. Probably the same reason Old Town refuses to make anything other than polyethylene now. The sell plenty of plastic boats, and the average canoeist doesn't know the difference. Heck, i didn't know the difference until I started educating myself the last several weeks.