• Happy National Blueberry Pie Day! 🫐🥧

​Tripping with young kids suggestions?

G

. I'm looking for something to that will fit our family of four and camping gear

I am quite new to canoe tripping though, so I appreciate the input :)

Aside from appropriate family canoe selections there are archived threads and entire books written about how to make family canoe tripping enjoyable for all.

https://www.amazon.com/Cradle-Canoe...kmr0&keywords=Macullif+canoeing+with+children

We started our sons tripping at an early age. What-worked advice/suggestions I can remember from those days:

Absolutely get them their own appropriately sized (and weighted) paddle when they are big enough to move to the bow. My sons were bored being mere passengers no matter where seated, but even at 9 or 10 their paddling contribution in the bow was valuable and effective.

Effective and, honestly, sometimes needed. They recognized the value of their paddling contribution when I said “Ok, gimme what you got ‘til we clear this point” and that made them part of the trip. It wasn’t long before I’d rather have them as a paddling partner in the bow than one of my novice friends.

A comfortable kid-sized PFD made a world of difference. That was an expense they will too soon outgrew, and yet still well worth the cost. I’d be unhappy too if forced to wear an uncomfortable PFD while paddling. If you have an outfitter shop nearby take them with you for a test fitting and allow their input on selection.

Make it more about the destination than the getting there. We did a lot of short, easy paddle in camper trips at first, ending at some site where the boys could happily splash about in the water and play in camp. I think that when they came to associate the joy of being there with the occasional chore of getting there they were happier anticipatory and participatory paddlers.