• Happy National Blueberry Pie Day! 🫐🥧

DIY Wool Blanket Camp Sweater

Reaction score
Anyone ever make their own tripping clothing? I've got no experience with this kind of stuff and no sewing machine, but a found a few folks on bushcraft forums made sweaters from wool blankets. Thought it would be nice to have home-made piece of gear for paddling in the chilly shoulder season.

Always liked the look of those Wool Blanket Shirts from Empire Wool and Canvas, but it looks like the've discontinued making them and moved on to more complicated garments. Duluth Pack makes a wool blanket shirt too but their high prices & cost of shipping (especially with the Canadian Dollar exchange) freaked me out.

Ended up googling keywords like "wool blanket shirt" & "wool blanket anorak" & "boreal shirt" and came across lots of pics and videos from folks making simplified versions.

Picked up a military replica blanket (90% wool) from a local surplus store. It didn't have that moth-ball chemical smell like many others in their stock. The width of the blanket was a perfect match to my armspan and that helped to limit the initial sewing work. The blanket was folded (unevenly) with one of my bulky fleece sweaters laid down as a pattern. The blanket was positioned so that the stitched bottom hem would be the front of the overall seater and the decorative stripe would be across the belly. Using some blackboard chalk, I traced around the sweater with about a 1/2" extra seem allowance.
Wool%2BCamp%2BSweater%2BProject%2B02_rs.jpg

Wool%2BCamp%2BSweater%2BProject%2B05_rs.jpg

The many descriptions of handstitching mentioned the blanket stitch as the most practical. It was pretty fast to do and the sides were quickly stitched up.
Wool%2BCamp%2BSweater%2BProject%2B09_rs.jpg

Used some extra material from the striped section of the blanket to make a collar by and folded a piece in half and stitching up the sides and then inverting.
Wool%2BCamp%2BSweater%2BProject%2B12_rs.jpg