• Happy National Garlic Day! 🧄🚫🧛🏼‍♂️

Tarp size

Reaction score
Need a new tarp. I never have had a good one. Probably going to go with a CCS Tundra tarp, for all the obvious reasons. And I am a rank amateur when it comes to using tarps compared to many of you here, but I do like square or rectangular tarps. They seem more versatile than those funny shaped things that look like bat wings or something.

I'm just not sure on the size. While there is certainly some personal preference involved, what is your preferable tarp size? I am usually by myself, occasionally with one other person, rarely with more.

I should say that I won't use this tarp to cover my tent. Just as an extra protected area for cooking, lounging, waiting out the weather, etc.

Is a 10x10 foot big enough? Should I go larger?

I'd like to hear your opinions. Thanks.

A 10x10 would probably be big enough for a solo paddler and the purposes you describe. A 10x12 would be a better choice going solo or with one partner. A 1.9 oz CCS is what I have. Definitely a good quality tarp. I'm of the colorful tarp school, others might prefer inconspicuous colors.