• Happy Weed Appreciation Day! 🌱🌿🌻

Origami Style Folding Reflector Oven

Reaction score
Never been much of a baker on the trail, but thought tinkering with a reflector oven would be a fun project. Just didn't want something too big and I have limited experience working with metal. I think RedOleary posted a great youtube video a while back of his homemade reflector based on the Svante Freden design but made from aluminum flashing. I was planning on going that route until stumbling on another design found on the BushcraftUSA forums. A post by Operater6 (link here - member login required) showed his concept of making a mini reflector oven from a large aluminum tray available at the dollar store. One of those large liner trays to fit the bottom of a conventional electric oven at home. With a few cuts and folds, he ended up with a pretty functional reflector to bake biscuits on the trail. If you're not a member on those forums, here are some shots of his "2 Dollar Reflector Oven" ...

1-Edges%2Bfolded%2Bwith%2Bholes.jpg

Photo Credit: Operator 6 - Bushcraftusa Forums

2-Folded.jpg

4-Foil%2BTray.jpg

7-Ready%2Bto%2Beat.jpg

He very generously provided plans for others to try and replicate his smart little invention...
oven%2Bplan.jpg

Folding Oven Plans

Instead of using the aluminum oven trays however, I ended up using something else that was found a few weeks back on garbage day. Someone in the neighbourhood was throwing away what looked like roll of aluminum. Thought is was some sort of construction material but it turns out it was a camping accessory called the BakGlo Campfire Chair Warmer. Here are some graphics from the company website:
hand_roll.jpg
gb110d1c.jpg